running my 70th half

I didn’t mean to run my 70th half marathon on Sunday. I initially signed up for a longer distance race but On Saturday evening, I decided to run the Fort Langley Half instead.

Was it impulsive and spontaneous? Yes, absolutely! But this is who I am, and this is what has propelled me to dream big.

Over the last year and a half, I credit my “success” to my husband who encourages me and supports me. He is part of my driving force to reach higher. Nobody gets to where they are without the help of others. I am really, really blessed that I can count on my immediate family for their unconditional support.

The last 18 months have taken me on a journey of self-discovery. I’ve learned what I am truly passionate about and have been able to work towards achieving my goals. I have become very self- motivated, and hope I have inspired my kids to chase after what they believe in.

Pursuing a dream is never easy. There will always be nay-sayers who want you to fail, but count those people out. Believe in yourself and rely on true friends who inspire you and stand behind you. These are basic life lessons.

During yesterday’s race, I was particularly inspired by Scott Jurek. What a super human! As I was running, I thought to myself how little pain I have to endure – a few minutes – compared to a month and a half of hardships. I shouldn’t even call it pain, despite a number of tough hills. Thinking of Scott gave me the courage to block my pain and keep on going!

The nicest part of the race was at the end. We were handed these very nice ceramic medals (see picture), which was a total surprise. I definitely was not expecting anything.

My running journey so far has been so enriching and empowering, and I don’t want it to stop. I can hardly wait to see what’s in store for me in the years to come!

Every single one of us possesses the strength to attempt something he isn’t sure he can accomplish” -Scott Jurek

Ceramic medal

Ceramic medal

Leave a Reply

