Journey to Mars

I am no NASA astronaut, but a real fanatic of half marathons, that I made it to Mars yesterday!!!

What a journey! It took me exactly 26 half marathons and almost a full year to get from Jupiter to Mars. This is the terminology that the Half Fanatics Running Club uses to keep track of each member’s running stats. There are different options to get to the desired level, or planets. I chose the hardest, which is, by volume.

The other day, I happened to be looking at my own stats and realized I need one more half marathon to reach Mars. So this past Saturday, I was on my mission to run my 26th half marathon in 49 weeks and less.

I was totally ecstatic getting to Mars. Because it demonstrated the hard work, commitment and effort to get there. Never thought I would get there, but I did!

Every goal always seems difficult to reach at first, but I persevered. I let nothing get in the way of me and my goals. And now it pays off!

2015 has been a year of many firsts for me. My first Dopey challenge at Walt Disney World (48.6 miles over 4 days of racing), my first 50KM ultra marathon, a number of age-group placing awards, becoming a double agent (and landing on Bogda Peak, which is the terminology for being a dual Marathon Maniac and Half Fanatic) and 16 halfs. I am not stopping here. I will be filling the rest of the year with more races and more challenges. I am so looking forward to the next 5 months.

Now, let’s talk a bit about my race yesterday, the Anacortes dash half marathon. There was a 5KM, 10KM, and the half marathon. This race started by the Anacortes Island City Hall. The mayor was there to officiate the race. The Anacortes Island reminds me little bit of Maine. Like a small fishing town; very quaint. The route took us by the bay, with post-card worthy views. Breath-taking!

This route was relatively flat except for this monster hill at mile 4. Something like over 200 feet of elevation. It felt really steep! By then, the sun was out in full force, which made it tough. There was no shade during the whole 13.1 miles. The last 2 miles were particularly tough, because it was so hot and humid. I felt like I couldn’t breathe. It was a small-town race, so there was no chip-timing. I picked this race to simply finish off my streak and reach a new planet.

There were a fair number of Half Fanatics, so I was not alone in this race, which was good.

When I got to the finish line, I spotted a water hose. Without thinking, I automatically sprayed it on my face, only realizing after it was salt water. My body felt so sticky afterwards. Kind of yucky, so I didn’t want to linger at the finish line anymore. I took a few pictures by the water and left.

My family asked me if I felt any different getting to Mars. I told them, of course, because Mars is hotter than Jupiter!

I will stay on Mars for a while. After all, I think planet Mars is quite neat, and I like anything associated with Mars. For example, Mars bars, Bruno Mars. 😉

I don’t have a grand plan yet, but I assure everyone I will don my space-suit and continue my exploration onto the other planets in the future. And when I do, my next stop will be travelling back to Earth (the next level).

So long, everyone, time to continue this journey!

Mission to Mars

Mission to Mars

professional photo ;)

professional photo 😉

finish line

finish line

Leave a Reply

