Inaugural Brooklyn Rock N’ Roll Half Marathon

Yesterday was a very special day – a day where I traveled back to planet Earth after about 3 months on Planet Mars. According to the Half Fanatics running terms, that means I had to run a total of 31 half marathons in 365 days or less to reach my destination.

It was not an easy process. There were so many changes in plans, so needless to say, I am so happy to have finally reached the level I wished to attain (Level 6).

My journey to Earth started last year with the Rock n’ Roll Oasis Vancouver half marathon on October 25th, 2014. On Saturday, October 10th, my mission was completed after running the Rock n’ Roll Brooklyn half marathon.

There were over 13,000 runners at Saturday’s inaugural event. It was very organized despite being the first year. Every race participant had to go through metal detectors to get into our assigned corrals. Once in, we were delayed by about half an hour from the supposed 7:00 a.m. start. There were about 20 corrals, but each one moved fairly fast.

On race day, it was a crisp sunny fall morning. A little on the chilly side, but once we started, it actually turned quite warm. The course was very nice and to run amongst 13,000 runners was so exciting. Tons of spectators lined the course to cheer us on. The race started at the Grand Army Plaza in Brooklyn’s Prospect Park, and finished at Prospect Park. There was high security all around; I personally haven’t seen so many NYPD all at once. It was so cool! Thanks to the officers for keeping the roads safe for us, and the volunteers and entertainers for making our running experience super fun & memorable!

The course wasn’t exactly flat – certain parts were rolling, but all in all, a very lovely course. I am really indecisive about running big city races or smaller intimate races. They both have its pros & cons. I think I like them both! Big races are actually easier to run as you run alongside many other runners who can help pull you through at the end or through rough patches, while with the smaller races you have to be more self-reliant but are definitely easier to deal with logistically.

Two things about my race made it memorable. First, I reached the Earth level, and secondly I got to race with my son who ran his first half-marathon! I am so proud of him!

Grateful to all those who helped me through this journey! And to my dear son, I hope we can run more races together…

Last but not least , let me quote Ralph Waldo Emerson:

“Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail”

Race start at Prospect Park

Race start at Prospect Park

landmarks along the course

landmarks along the course

along the race course

along the race course

Race Medal!

Race Medal!

 

Leave a Reply

