Dopey Challenge: Day 2

Day 2 of the Dopey Challenge, the 10K race: weather forecast said rain. It was stormy throughout the night, and all I heard was pounding rain non-stop. So when I woke up the morning of the race, indeed it was still raining.

As usual, I woke up early and got to the parking lot at about 4:30 a.m. I came prepared, wearing my old running shoes and old sweats. as well as my plastic poncho.

Keen to get started, I got into my corral rather early. Then, the rain really began to fall. Everyone was looking up into the skies hoping it would stop, but it got heavier and heavier. It was like a movie set, rain pounding at us from all angles. It almost became torrential. By that time, I was not just eager to run, but also impatient for the race to start so I could get it over with and change into some dry clothes.

After the gun went off, everyone darted out through puddles and puddles of rain. I overheard runners jokingly saying that the Disney character of the day should have been Nemo. As I got going, I fell into a rhythm and was keeping a good pace – maybe because I was so used to the rain, despite my impatience with it all before the race begun.

Before I knew it, I had crossed the finish line where I was rewarded with a red Minnie Mouse medal for completing the 10K – see picture below. I must admit, Disney is very creative with their medal designs. After each day’s race, just like a little kid I was so excited to receive the different medals because of how cute and unique they looked.

By the time I got back to the Runner’s World tent, I was soaking wet. Fortunately, I was greeted with such a warm welcome from the people already there. I got to enjoy a hot tea and hot hearty breakfast…ahhh, I felt much better already! Once I got some food into my belly, I took photos with the Runner’s World staff – thank you and the rest of the Runner’s World VIP team for creating such a great atmosphere for the Disney Challengers!

With day 2 complete and a 5K and 10K race behind me, I became more pumped and ready to conquer the days ahead. But for some reason, physically I was exhausted by late afternoon. Must have been due to those early morning wake ups and race start times. That Friday evening of the 10K race, I fell asleep immediately after dinner.

So thus far, first day of racing on Thursday for the 5K was in perfect, cool weather. However, on the second day of racing for the 10K we endured super rainy weather. Nature really has a way of testing us runners. But then again, that’s what I think the Dopey Challenge is all about. It’s not just the physical challenges but the mental challenges that make us stronger when we can push ourselves to overcome them.

IMG_0460.JPG

10K finisher medal – it’s MINNIE Mouse!

IMG_5346.JPG

At the Finish with my Minnie Mouse medal

IMG_5345.JPG

Runner’s World tent with Bart Yasso

Leave a Reply

