My 86th Half – The Rain Run

While the whole east coast US was hit with winter storm Jonas this past weekend, I was in Redmond, Washington running a super rainy half marathon. The name of the race was appropriately called The Rain Run.

On the drive down from Vancouver during the morning of the race, the rain got heavier and heavier. Certainly wasn’t a nice day to run, but then again the slogan of the race was – run in the Seattle rain!

We arrived at the grounds of the parking lot with about an hour to spare before the race started. I couldn’t decide whether it was going to be a shorts or capri leggings kind of day. When I stepped out of the car, I decided to change to leggings. I normally hate leggings because they are so restrictive but I thought I would better protect myself from the wind and rain. I even wore my Double Agent cap for the first time to protect my head and face.

The race started right at 9:00 a.m. The rain was heavy at the start – not good for racing. First mile was a loop around a gravel parking lot. Brutal. I felt my feet plant right into the gravel, which were more similar to big rocks. Nothing moved. I hated that first loop.

Once we got out of the lot, we headed towards the Lake Sammamish running trail which was a paved path. The hard concrete affected my running from start to finish. The (lack of) cushion in my shoes didn’t help me one single bit. Definitely should have known not to wear a worn-out pair.

I had run this same trail many times in previous races; while most of them were run in a clockwise direction, for Sunday’s race we went counter-clockwise which I found slightly more difficult. Plus, it was an out-and-back course. I never enjoy those because you see the faster runners already on their way back towards the finish line while you are still going out. I much rather prefer running straight away courses.

Not having enough water stops made this race even more difficult for me. Plus, no sports drinks were offered. I think for any race distances longer than 5km, there should be a choice of water and sports drinks.

My legs really began to feel tired at about mile 12. I guess I was still feeling all the lactic acid build up from my Dopey Challenge two weekends ago. I pushed through, trying to block out these factors. When I got to the finisher area, it was very muddy; the last 50 metres were like running through a swamp. So hard to manoeuvre. Despite this, when I got to the finish line I received a super cute medal and an umbrella for finishing – see pics. Love it!

The finisher age group rankings were in 10-year ranges. Had they been split into a 5-year gap, I would have come 3rd for my age group. But it was all good. The main thing is that I got my 86th half under my belt. I am slowly but surely building up to my goal of running 100 half marathons. Around a year ago, I had completed my 50th half, so never in my wildest dreams did I think I would get close to 100. It is very exciting and I am looking toward to fulfilling my half-marathon goals for this year.

Runners, let your goals begin!

“Goals. There is no telling what you can do when you get inspired by them. There’s no telling what you can do when you believe in them. And there’s no telling what will happen when you act upon them”

– Jim Rohn

the Rain Run - 1.23.2016

the Rain Run – 1.23.2016

The Rain Run finishers' medal

The Rain Run finishers’ medal

2 thoughts on “My 86th Half – The Rain Run

Leave a Reply

