100th Half Marathon

Do you know where you’re going to? Do you like the things that life is showing you? Where are you going to? Do you know?

Nearly three years ago this July, I joined the Half Fanatics running club. I thought it would be cool to be a member. At that time, I had about maybe 30 halfs under my belt. After joining, I progressed from 2 moons (second level) to 4 moons within about 3 months. That’s when my goal of achieving a higher level for the Half Fanatics club really sank in.

My journey to complete 100 half marathons really began in April 2014. Back then, I thought maybe I would do a couple of halfs instead of marathons for a change of pace.  Soon, I was hooked on the 13.1 distance. By 2015, after completing my Dopey Challenge in January, I began to take this journey seriously. In total, I managed to run about 32 halfs. I vividly remember after running the Skagit Half Marathon, my running friends asked me what my running goals were. I shyly replied “I hope to reach 100 half marathons by next year!”

Last week, I signed up for the Spring Classic Half Marathon in Portland, Oregon.  In the past, this event has been a duathlon, but this year was the first year they added a half, 10K & 5K. So I thought, why not keep my streak going and run this race?! So for 14 weekends straight, I managed to run 15 halfs, leading me to complete my magical 100th half!

It was a beautiful course alongside the breath-taking Columbia River. I have covered many races in this region. I am always drawn to its beauty. It is calm, and at the same time, it is a mighty powerful River.

I did not set great expectations for completing my 100th, except to run a fairly consistent time. To my surprise, I was able to finish this race with a decent time and ended up placing in my age group. I have to thank all the volunteers for cheering me on so loudly and acknowledging me for completing my 100th half.

I am ecstatic that this dream of mine has come true. I worked very hard towards my goal, and this journey hasn’t been easy. Each race seemed to get tougher and tougher. There were weekends where I really questioned my abilities. But as each one progressed, I got more confident & reassured myself that I was getting one step closer to achieving this goal.

If it weren’t for my friends, family, and past and present mentors who have inspired and encouraged me on this wonderful journey, I would NEVER have done it on my own!

What is next for me? I will continue running half marathons because I love the distance, but I will devote more energy into running longer distances.

Thanks to all those who have followed me since I started my running blog. I hope you have all enjoyed reading these posts and they have somehow inspired you to pursue your dreams! And if it hasn’t, start by asking yourself, what are my dreams? How bad do I want to achieve them? Once you do that, go ahead and dive in and follow through with a master game plan.

Life is short, so remember to do something meaningful with it 🙂

Beautiful scenery

Beautiful scenery

At the finish

At the finish

Age group ceremony

Age group ceremony

Leave a Reply

