106th Half – Snoqualmie Valley Trail Half Marathon

On June 11th I ran the Snoqualmie Valley Trail Half Marathon which was my 106th half. It was a very nice race held in this small town called Carnation, in King County, Washington.

It was a beautiful summery morning, but a little on the cool side. The surroundings were very peaceful. When I got to the start, there was this old red barn, which I believed had been preserved from the original time it was built. It was not a big race, yet there were pacers from 1:30 to 2:30 so I lined up with the 2:15 pacers. Right at 7:45, the race started.

The initial part was full of huge rocks, and it was near impossible to pick up pace for about a km or so. In fact, I had to adjust my footing. Then we got out of this rough part of the race and into real soft trail running, where the scenery was very green. It was an out and back course. About 5-6 miles in, I was trailing the 2:15 group, but somehow at the turn-around, I was able to pick up my pace and I began eventually reeling runners in and catching up with that group. That was a nice feeling! Somehow, I had this second wind, and I felt stronger towards the last couple of miles. On the return part, even the huge rocks did not bother me as much as going out.

I was able to finish under my goal pace which was a huge bonus. I must also emphasize this race had some of the greatest post-race food ever provided! Real bacon & eggs breakfast, plus all sorts of fruits, which were cut up in pieces. Also, great volunteers at this event.

And the medal was super cute as it actually showed the landmark of the red barn on it and was very colourful. I loved the surroundings and the beautiful trail. Plus, the quaintness of the town gives it that little extra which made it memorable. I will be back for this race!

Below are the pictures of my medal, and a few other race pictures. Enjoy!

Snoqualmie Valley Trail Run Medal

Snoqualmie Valley Trail Run Medal

Before the race

Before the race

Along the course

Along the course

Tolt Bridge, along the course

Tolt Bridge, along the course

Scenery from the course

Scenery from the course

Leave a Reply

