Forever Young 8 KM race

Within the span of 3 weeks, I ran a marathon, a 5k, a 10k & half combo, and finally finished with an 8k.

Initially I had thought to run the Skagit Flats Half Marathon on September 11, however, no registrations were accepted the week before the race. So I got this idea, why not race an 8k instead (less miles!). I found a local race, aptly named Forever Young, which took place at Garry Point Park, Richmond BC.

This was not just any 8k though, it was an 8k for “older” runners. I love the idea! I think seniors who live a healthy lifestyle make such great role models for the rest of the community. On top of that, many of the runners in this race were extremely fast for their age groups, and a few ladies were in fact world class age group runners. To be in their company was an honour; and someday, I hope I can follow in their foot-steps.

The race was very well-organized. The warm-up was doing a 3 min or so aerobics work-out. I could barely follow any of the moves because I’m so uncoordinated, but it felt good stretching my tight muscles.

The morning was perfect for a race. Still a warm summer morning. The route started from Garry Point and went along the dirt gravel trail to the Quilchena golf club for the turn around.

Somehow running 8k was hard. I was pushing myself to run a 5k pace yet had to run an extra 3k. My legs were not turning over. Last time I raced 8k I was still running low 42 minutes. Now, my pace had slowed by almost a km.

I cannot count the number of races I have done on the dykes. One thing I don’t like about  them though is there is no shade, so on a summery hot day, it can sizzle.

I did this race to have fun and run a different distance, and to my surprise, I finished 5th place in my age group. I was happy!

However, as I said before, it’s hard to mix distances. For the last 9 months, I have been focusing on running halfs, that it was hard to run a shorter distance. Personally, I like running the “longer” distances, so that probably will be my last 8k race for a while.

As I share my medal picture, may I remind every single runner to take care of your health. And to the older runners, may you be Forever Young!

Leave a Reply

